John M. Vierling, MD, FACP, FAASLD, AGAF

Professor of Medicine and Surgery, Chief of Hepatology-Baylor College of Medicine

Committees: Compensation Committee (member)

John M. Vierling is a tenured Professor of Medicine and Surgery and Chief of Hepatology at the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. He is also Director of Advanced Liver Therapies (a clinical research unit for adult liver diseases), Baylor Liver Health (a program for liver wellness) and Program Director of the Hepatology and Liver Transplantation Fellowship. He obtained his AB in Biology with Great Distinction from Stanford University and received his MD degree from Stanford University School of Medicine. He is ABIM certified in internal medicine and gastroenterology, and was formerly certified in Transplant Hepatology. He was the founding Medical Director of Liver Transplantation at both the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center and Cedars-Sinai/UCLA Medical Center, where he was Director of Hepatology and later Medical Director of Multi-Organ Transplantation. His clinical interests include autoimmune and alloimmune liver diseases, liver transplantation, hepatobiliary cancers, acute liver failure, viral hepatitis, non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, Wilson disease and drug-induced liver injury (DILI). His translational research interest is immunologic mechanisms of hepatobiliary injury in autoimmune and alloimmune liver diseases, cancer immunotherapy, DILI, viral hepatitis and acute liver failure. He has authored over 250 manuscripts, reviews and chapters. Honors include Phi Beta Kappa, Alpha Omega Alpha, Best Doctors in America, Top 1% physician rating by U.S. News and World Report, Who’s Who in America, Who’s Who in the World, Who’s Who in Science and Engineering and Who’s Who in Healthcare. He currently serves on the NIH NIDDK Liver Tissue and Cell Distribution System Coordinating Committee and the DSMB for their DILI Network. He also has served as President of the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases, Secretary-Treasurer of Digestive Disease Week® and Chairman of the National Board of Directors of the American Liver Foundation.